The County is responsible for coordinating and administering Primary and General elections. La Paz County also enters into intergovernmental agreements with the Town of Parker, Town of Quartzsite, the school districts and other special districts to conduct elections for local office holders and bond issues. Major elections are held every two years for state, county and federal offices with smaller elections held at other times of the year.

Election Dates

There are 4 consolidated election dates in Arizona:
  • 2nd Tuesday in March
  • 3rd Tuesday in May
  • 1st Tuesday in August
  • 1st Tuesday after the first Monday in November
Jurisdictions required to hold elections only on a consolidated election date are a: county, city, town, school district, community college district and eight Title 48 special districts.


Candidates for office must circulate petitions and gather the required number of signatures to have their name placed on the primary ballot. The nominating petitions for county offices are submitted to the Elections Department and for State offices to the Secretary of State. La Paz County has 11 precincts and 8 polling places within the three Supervisorial Districts. The Board of Supervisors establishes the voting precincts.

Precinct Lines

Any changes to the precinct lines, the Supervisor district lines, or election procedures must be reviewed and approved by the United States Justice Department.


A person shall not be eligible for a county office, whether elective or appointive, nor shall a certificate of election be issued to any person unless the person is, at the time of the election or appointment: 18 years of age or over, a resident of the state, able to read and write the English language, and will be a qualified elector of the district which he or she proposes to represent at the time of the candidate filing. The Board of Supervisors shall be the sole judge of these qualifications, subject to review by certiorari in the superior court.